Skip to content

Faces of the Street

When I am shooting “Street” photography, I usually attempt to capture it one of two ways. I am either trying to photograph a “scene” on the street (people walking, talking to each other, etc) or I “Zoom” in on the faces of the individuals in order to explore the character I see there.
This series of photos is a mixed bag of your “everyday” people as well as the “less fortunate” among us.
I am NOT trying to make any kind of sociopolitical statement here — just displaying some photos of what I sometimes see when I am out on the streets.

Hope you enjoy.

27 Comments Post a comment
  1. 09/26/2012

    Great attention to detail. I especially like the guy with the crucifix on his glasses.

    Reply
  2. 09/26/2012

    Art, for some reason the slideshow doesn’t advance. I’ve noticed this on several of your posts. The thumbnail images are exceptional. I wish I could see the larger images. 🙂

    Reply
    • 09/26/2012

      Very sorry this is happening for you ! No one else seems to be having this issue — at least that have notified me. The slideshow is a little slow — are you giving it time to advance? Again — sorry you are having this issue

      Reply
  3. 09/26/2012

    These are beautiful! I especially love the ones where the subjects are looking directly at you. so powerful!

    Reply
  4. 09/26/2012

    This is my favorite kind of photography – faces caught in a moment in time – I think you already know how to take a picture. When I retire and buy a real camera I only hope to be able to approach your ability.

    Reply
  5. 09/27/2012

    These were wonderful and fascinating. You have outstanding talent. Thank you for sharing these.

    Reply
  6. 09/27/2012

    I wonder, Art, do you walk up to these people to ask their permission first or do you just take the photos? The ones who look right at you, I mean. Fascinating to see these faces, they all have their own stories to tell.

    Reply
    • 09/27/2012

      95 percent of the time I do not ask first. Always shoot in public places so no problems with any legal issues…..and yes ……what interesting stories each must have if we just took the time to listen.

      Art iPad

      Reply
  7. 09/28/2012
    Mary

    Wow, your photos are awesome. I am honoured that you gave me a “like” for mine! Have a good day!

    Reply
  8. 10/1/2012

    Strong set of photos Art….a good mix of street and portrait. Some great characters as well in this lot…..some of those faces have had hard lives.

    Reply
  9. 10/1/2012

    I bow down to you, sir. I have just whiled away guilt free time viewing your photographs. Beautiful and inspiring.

    Reply
  10. 10/2/2012
    brusselsislove

    Reblogged this on Brusselsislove's Blog.

    Reply
  11. 10/3/2012

    Great “everyday people on the street” captures.

    Reply
  12. 10/3/2012

    My husband would like your card player picture. You do capture some soul in your shots. I’ll be following your blog.

    Reply
  13. 10/8/2012

    Amazing photography! It’s lovely how you capture more than just a picture!

    Reply
  14. 10/9/2012
    atrandom37

    I love these, Art. How did you get over your nervousness of “shooting” people? I’m slowly getting over my nervousness…lol.

    Reply
  15. 10/13/2012

    Really nice work, sensitively done.

    Reply
  16. 10/19/2012

    Thanks for the blog visit and your shots are super.

    A question though…how do you deal with permission and privacy issues? Some of your subjects obviously know they’re posing for you and seem happy to do so, others are caught unawares. I love taking street shots, but often feel awkward about asking permission of strangers, and my unposed shots are often better. What do you think?

    Reply
  17. 10/23/2012
    hutchphotography2020

    Well observed. I don’t know why it is for me, but the people on the street are so much more visually interesting. Maybe it’s because their life stories are etched in their flesh.

    Reply
  18. 10/23/2012

    Wow! These are incredible. I have to say number 10 really stood out to me. Great work!

    Reply
  19. 10/31/2012

    Art, these photos show such a human and personal side to the streets. These images capture our attention and make you consider whether you would pay attention to these people if you passed them by. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  20. 11/4/2012

    Great photos, and I share your sentiment for “street photography”.

    Reply
  21. 11/19/2012

    great work, Art

    Reply
  22. 12/31/2012

    It’s a good set with a lot of feeling. Street photography has many dimensions.

    Reply
  23. 05/5/2013

    Great street and portrait photography!

    Reply
  24. 08/11/2013
    elysejulianne

    I love love love love love love this!

    I often want to try this as well-although, I am not nearly as seasoned as you are in photography.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

